---
title: Do I lose my existing appointment if I'm added to the waitlist?
description: Do I lose my existing appointment if I'm added to the waitlist?
---

[Skip to content](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/do-i-lose-my-existing-appointment-if-im-added-to-the-waitlist#main-content)

- [English](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/do-i-lose-my-existing-appointment-if-im-added-to-the-waitlist)
- [Français](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-fr/mon-rendez-vous-reste-t-il-valable-si-je-suis-ajoutée-à-la-liste-dattente-)
- [Nederlands](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter/ben-ik-mijn-bestaande-afspraak-kwijt-als-ik-op-de-wachtlijst-word-geplaatst)

English

Show submenu for translations

![Logo_white-01](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/hs-fs/hubfs/Logo_white-01.png?width=100&height=100&name=Logo_white-01.png)

Open main navigation

Close main navigation

- - [English](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/do-i-lose-my-existing-appointment-if-im-added-to-the-waitlist)
    - [Français](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-fr/mon-rendez-vous-reste-t-il-valable-si-je-suis-ajoutée-à-la-liste-dattente-)
    - [Nederlands](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter/ben-ik-mijn-bestaande-afspraak-kwijt-als-ik-op-de-wachtlijst-word-geplaatst)
  
  
  
  
  
  
  English
  
  Show submenu for translations
- Contact us

 Contact us

 How can we help you?

- There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

1. [Patient Helpcenter](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en?hsLang=en)
2. [Appointments & Notifications](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/appointments-notifications?hsLang=en)

- [Account & data](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/account-data?hsLang=en)
- [Appointments & Notifications](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/appointments-notifications?hsLang=en)
- [Registration & Enrollment](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/registration-enrollment?hsLang=en)
- [Using the app](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/using-the-app?hsLang=en)
- [Privacy & GDPR](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/privacy-gdpr?hsLang=en)
- [Support](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/patient-helpcenter-en/support?hsLang=en)

January 13, 2026

# Do I lose my existing appointment if I'm added to the waitlist?

## Some patients receive an email confirming that they have been added to the waitlist and wonder whether their original appointment is still valid.

The answer is no. **Your existing appointment remains valid exactly as originally scheduled.**

Being added to the waitlist simply means that you **may become eligible to be seen earlier**. It does **not** mean that your appointment is canceled or removed.

#### How does it work?

- You are added to the waitlist while keeping your existing appointment.
- If a suitable earlier slot becomes available, TurnUp will automatically invite you for that appointment.
- You decide whether or not you want to accept the earlier appointment.

So there’s no need to worry — **your original appointment is always kept**.

[![Logo_white-01](https://helpdesk.turnup.world/hs-fs/hubfs/Logo_white-01.png?width=100&height=100&name=Logo_white-01.png "Logo_white-01")](http://www.turnup.be)

TurnUp World Patient Help Center

<https://www.facebook.com/turnup.world.be> <https://www.instagram.com/turnup.world> <https://www.linkedin.com/company/turnupworld/>

Copyright © 2026, TurnUp BV